Pottsboro All Time Coaches

Pottsboro All Time Coaches

Jim Henderson 1972
First coach in Pottsboro history, tragically passed away just before the first game.  To honor him Pottsboro Schools decided to name the field after him, the dedication ceremony was held Sept 29, 1972 attended by Baylor head coach Grant Teaff who was a teammate of Henderson’s in college.

Bert Glascock 1972-77  (37-26-2) 6 years
Last minute selection to become the head coach, turned out to be a good choice, he came in with experience as he had been a coach for 15 years prior to coming to Pottsboro.  Coached for 6 years, then left for an administration job at Pottsboro.  Won 2 district championships 1976 & 1977 in an era when only the district champ advanced to playoffs.  The ’77 team advanced to the state quarter-finals.

Ronny Ray 1978-1987  (73-33-2) 10 years
Was only 30 years old when named head coach of the Cardinals.  Was the defensive coordinator for 3 years under Glascock before becoming head coach.  Led the Cardinals to one of their greatest runs during his 10 years, the only losing season was his first.   Had some great defensive teams with 10 shutouts from 1979-84, the 1981 squad only allowed 7.3 points per game.  Back-to-back district championships in 1980-’81& ’86-’87.  In 1981 lost to Pilot Point 15-7 in the 2nd round of playoffs, this was Pilot Point’s closest game of the year as they won the state championship.  The 1987 team advanced to the 3rd round of the playoffs playing the first day game and first Saturday game in school history vs. Lorena, losing to the eventual state champs.

Bo Jones 1988-1991  (11-29)  4 years
Jones was an assistant on the 1987 team then took over as head coach to start 1988.  Had the unfortunate task of coaching the Cards when they jumped to class 3A starting with the 1990 season, Jones coached the first Cardinals winless season that year.

Steve Brasher 1992-95  (15-25)  4 years
Came to Pottsboro from Minden, La.  Made the statement that he wanted to coach in Texas where “real” football was played.  Struggled against perennial Texas football powers in district 9-3A like Gainesville, Sanger & Bonham.  Best year was 1993 finished 5-5.

Rick Cullum 1996-2000 (21-30)  5 years
Came to Pottsboro from Sherman where he was an assistant.  The Cardinals earned their first 3A playoff game under Cullum in 2000 with a runner-up finish in district 9-3A.  That year they played the only overtime playoff game in school history losing the Bi-District to Wilmer Hutchins 26-20.  The Cardinals only had one winning season under Cullum but he left the program in good shape as they made the playoffs the next year as well.

Mike Crowe 2001-03 (17-13-1)  3 years
Came in with 18 years coaching experience, first season started 8-0 on the way to the playoffs.  Had 2 winning season in his 3 years and an overall winning record during his tenure.  Left after 3 years to become the offensive coordinator at Austin College.

Jim Verden 2004-05  (1-19) 2 years
Took over the Cardinals after a stellar job at class A Wheeler where the Mustangs advanced to the playoffs 9 of the 10 years while Verden was the head coach.  Guided the Cardinals through one of their toughest stretches, didn’t win a game in 2 seasons.  Was later awarded forfeit for the Pilot Point game in 2004.

Matt Poe 2006-      (116-40)  13 years
Took over program that had struggled with 2 straight winless seasons.
Poe had immediate success going 7-3 in 2006 & 8-3 in 2007 returning to the playoffs.  Poe’s teams showed sustained success as the program reached new heights.  In 2008 the Cardinals advanced to the state semi-finals for the first time finishing 13-2.  The 2015 Cardinals were poised to make a deep run in the playoffs before injuries ruined a great season, finishing 11-1.  The Cardinals have won 6 district championships 2011-16, plus 7 10-win seasons, and have reached the playoffs 10 of the 12 seasons, under Poe.

No Comments

Post A Comment